Beginning Of A New Era County Commissioners Named


A law was enacted by the General Assembly on December 13, 1871, which established a three-man board of commis­sioners for Liberty County. Selection of the commissioners was left up to John B. Mallard, the county ordinary. He appointed John W. Smith and James M. Smith, brothers, and Reverend Floyd Snelson, to serve on the board until a regular county election was held.


The Inferior Court, up to 1872, governed the county in most matters. The new law specified that the board of com­missioners would hold and control all property belonging to the county, levy general and specific taxes for county purposes, award contracts to build bridges, roads, and other public works, and establish, change, or abolish election pre­cincts and militia districts.  


From "Sweet Land of Liberty, A History of Liberty County, Georgia" by Robert Long Groover; Page(s) 55; Used by the permission of the Liberty County Commissioners Office 


Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Its free to join the Liberty County Historical Society and help us discover and preserve our Liberty County History. Please join by signing up for our newsletter as shown below. Thank you for helping and being a part of Liberty County History!


* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )